5 things I need to start the school year

All summer I work bit by bit towards the next school year. Curriculum is researched and purchased. Co-op classes are registered, and city class fees are paid. In August, I really get busy prepping by planning units and quarter objectives. These are a few of my favorite planning tools:

1. My new laminator
IMG_6802.PNG
Purchased of Amazon for $17.99, this machine has already earned it’s place in the office. I have mostly used it to prep PreK activities for Addison, but I’m sure I will use it for the boys as well.

2. Bestvaluecopy.com

IMG_6798.JPG
I uploaded 10 documents that needed printing, some bound, and some 3 hole punched. The cost of over 500 pages printed and shipped was $30. What a deal!

3. A lesson plan page that works

IMG_6743.JPG
I finally got Hubby to design a page that would suit our family. After looking at it for a few weeks, it needs some tweaking, but for the most part, I really like it.

4. Online Shopping
Most people think that homeschoolers don’t need back to school supplies. However, we need notebooks, crayons, scissors and glue sticks just like everyone else. We try to reuse as much as possible, so we may not spend as much as others. In addition, all 3 of the kids needed backpack and lunch boxes due to a neighborhood backpack thief. My favorite online sources for school supplies are target.com (I can return what we don’t use!) and childrensplace.com (all 3 backpacks and lunch boxes were under $40 with shipping). I love online shopping because it was done in 30 min from my phone during rest time.. Much less stressful!

5. A flexible attitude
This week there was a mild bit of drama regarding Hudson’s school situation. Apparently, the district switched his school without notifying me. I was only made aware by a bus driver calling regarding pick up time. After a week of receiving the “run around,” I was finally able to meet his teacher. She spent an hour talking with Hubby and me. The para played with Hudson. We feel good about sending him.
Speaking of flexible, sometimes as a parent, I am really flexible and let Hudson get a red Mohawk at a friend’s birthday party. He loved it!
.

IMG_6819.JPG

IMG_6820-0.JPG
Of course, Addi needed a pink sparkly pony tail!

About jslimato

I am a follower of Jesus who is married to an incredible man who also loves Jesus. God has blessed us with 5 babies. Three are with us here on earth and 2 are in heaven. I stay at home with my blessings full time and do all the things I swore I would never do: stay home fulltime, cloth diaper and homeschool to mention a few. This blog follows my journey with my blessings.
This entry was posted in Addison, Hudson, Tyson and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment